8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2013 7:49 PM by Freddie Santiago

Membrane under Pre-Tension

Freddie Santiago

I am a student and begginer with Solidwork, working on a model of a membrane deformation due to an apply pressure. Similar to a musical drum membrane. Following a trampoline tutorial in nonlinear manual I was able to model my experiment using Static(Linear) as well a nonlinear simulation. The model works fine except my results are off(displacement due to applied pressure) since I don't know how to model the membrane pre-tension. I basically want to model the pre-tension of the membrane, like a drum and then apply my pressure to deform the membrane. How I can model that Pre-tension?

Will appreciate any help.... 

• Re: Membrane under Pre-Tension
          Irfan Zardadkhan

Hi Freddie,

You can model the pre-tension as a prescribed displacement on the outer edge of the membrane. Are you running Static or Non-linear Static analysis? Make sure the Large Displacement flag is turned on if you expect large displacements. If you want to share a screenshot of what you are trying to do will be helpful in answering your question.

Freddie Santiago

Hi Irfan,

Thank you for the suggestion really appreciate it. I had done it with both Static and Non-linear for comparision. On solidworks website there is an example of a trampoline that I used as a guideline, but with out the pre-tension.

So from your comment I would create a displacement in the outer edge, that will produce the pre-tension(stress on the membrane) then use that result into the current study I performed where I apply the constant pressure? Do you recommend make this displacement as Static or Non-linear?

Attached are screen shots of the membrane, the fixtures condition and Static results.

Once again thank you and any other suggestion or ideas will be appreciate it.

setup_1.pngsetup2.pngsetup_1.png

Freddie Santiago