11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2013 11:20 AM by M. Grundy

Bonding Beams to surfaces

M. Grundy

Hi All,

I am creating a simulation of a large bodied object that has internal struts using Solidworks Premium. I have changed the internal struts to beams and the walls of the object to a mid-plane surface (shell thickness 6mm) and am trying to bond the end of the beams to the shell wall. The struts/beams now sit offset from the surface by 3mm, the joint is a yellow ball rather than purple and therefore needs to be connected to something. Usually when connecting beams to beams this is not a problem (i.e. 'Treat a joint for clearence'), but im finding some trouble connecting beams to shells?

Could it be that i need to use 'contact sets -> bonded'? I have tried this and encountered trouble connecting the end of the beam to the surface. Error message 'invalid entity on beam body was selected. 

I am new to solidworks simulation and will appreciate any help that can be offered.

Thanks in advance.

(picture incl.)

• Re: Bonding Beams to surfaces
          Irfan Zardadkhan

Hi,

Try recalculating the joints and the adding the bonded contacts.

M. Grundy

Hi,

When i recalculate the joints they just appear disconnected (Yellow).

When i try to bond the contacts i get the error message 'invalid entity on beam body selected'. This appears if i select the end face of the beam and the side wall it should bond to.

Scott McElroy

Hi M. Grundy,

Would it throw off your simulation to extend the beams to be coincident with the shell. That should allow the bonded contacts to solve properly. Or you could merge results in the extend feature to create one body. You could only use the extend feature and merge results if this was a multi-body part file. For an assembly file, you could create references when editting the beam part in the assembly environment to extrude the beams to be coincident and it should solve the bonded contacts correctly.

M. Grundy

Hi scott,