14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2013 7:08 AM by Gareth Davies

Learning Solidworks from scratch?

Gareth Davies

Hi people,

This is my first post so a brief introduction. My name's Gareth and I've run my own steel fabrication company in the UK for just over 8 years. We mainly fabricate small to medium sized items in stainless steel and they are often one offs or small batches (under 10 off). A lot of what we do, on smaller jobs, is from sketches on scraps of paper which is adequate but not very good for keeping records nor is it very professional. On larger jobs I get them drawn up by a sub-contract draughtsman on Autocad which suits most applications but, obviously, there is an additional cost to this. I have no experience with Autocad other than being able to open drawings and add dimensions so I am at complete novice level where CAD is concerned. I am getting asked more and more by clients to provide drawings for visualisation purposes and this is where I believe Solidworks may benefit my business. Obviously it will be a fairly large expense but I believe it would be more beneficial for me to learn Solidworks rather than Autocad. My question being, is it feasible for someone with no CAD experience to learn Solidworks and how long does it take to become proficient at it? I don't want to spend a lot of money only to find that it's beyond me or that I don't have time to master it.

To add to the above, I'm not talking of being able to draw super complicated parts but items such as machine guarding, access platforms and support structures are the most likely candidates to be drawn up. I want to create a more professional approach to our work to build confidence with current and potential clients.

Thanks in advance,

Gareth

• Re: Learning Solidworks from scratch?
          Ash Combe

Hi Mate,