15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2013 8:06 AM by Joel Rapoport

need help building my new workstation

Joel Rapoport

hello all,

after reading all that I found in the last two weeks here on the forum, at Swtuts and other hardware forums I think I might be ready to buy my new system.

I discovered in the last week that even though I have been building my own systems for about 15 years for me and my friends, there is a lot to know specific things about building a system for Solidworks.

as a new system that should keep me going for about 3 years, I need it to be strong, reliable and not too loud. I don't want to spend a fortune on it, but I don't mind adding 300-500$ if there is a good reason for it.

im an industrial designer, so I guess I spend the fast most of my time on Solidworks (80-90%) and besides that I do the occasional 3dsmax render via V-Ray, some Photoshop etc'.

here are the parts that i selected so far:

Intel Core i7 3770K

ASUS P8Z77-V PRO

Intel 120GB SSD 520 Series SATA III 2.5'

Kingston HyperX Beast 2x8GB DDR3 1600MHz

Corsair CC600TWM-WHT Graphite Special Edition White Mid-Tower Case No PSU

Antec EarthWatts 650W Platinum 12cm PSU EA-650 Platinum (Retail)

Corsair Hydro H80i

this all comes down to about 1500$ here in Israel.

what do you think?

I have a few questions regarding the items I picked:

1. I want to OC the CPU to about 4.5, as Charles recommended. will the watercooling I selected (the corsair hydro h80i) be too much noisy compared to a air cooler? will a air cooler be able to get me to that kind of OC and keep me stable?

2. does the low latency and XMP matter much if im going to OC everything (granted, im no OC expert, but im willing to learn). for some reason its pretty hard to get low latency memory here. and if im looking into faster memory (i.e. 2400 etc) I have seen the latency go up to 12 or so.