7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2013 5:25 PM by Jared Conway

Flow Simulation Cannot Run or Save document

Cylo Master

Hello Everyone.

Ill get straight to the point with the facts

Ive been using Flow Simulation for a few years now. Multiple machine installs since 2007.

Im Working on Solidworks 2011 Sp4,

Updated all my windows 7 64bit drivers and upgraded to service pack sp1. including all relted windows updates.

My pc, more than enough computing power

i7, 32gb ram, ssd drive etc

The problem is................

Soldiworks Runs perfectly including all its addiins, except for Flow Simulation.

Flow SImulation addin loads with no problem, previous saved files can be viewed and loaded.

BUTTT......

As soon as i save the file or run the simulation, the whole program instantly crashes.

I am all out of ideas,

Any suggestions would be helpfull.

Thank you

• Re: Flow Simulation Cannot Run or Save document
          Jared Conway

where are the files located? double check that the problem happens if the file is on your desktop.

happens to all files? if you make a tube and setup a simple flow-only problem (vel on one side, pressure on other) does the problem still happen?

also i just want to double check, you didn't change operating systems to windows 7 from something else right? you just installed updates for drivers/windows updates?

Cylo Master

Thank you Jared for your reply.

Well heere is an update so that if someone else experiances this problem.

After serveral more hours of troubleshooting i found the problem but still dont have a solution.

The problem is actually the video card, or video card driver. I have installed Sapphire vapor-x Radeon HD7979 #GB GDDR5

After uninstalling the video driver and running flow simulation on the generic windows driver, everything worked fine. To make sure i tried

another video card too and everything ran smooth.