10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2013 7:42 AM by Karthik A

Imported curves as a sketch

Karthik A

Hi,

I am trying to import a curve from *.dat file to solidworks. I am using the "curve through xyz points" option and the curve is dislayed in the drawing window. Then, i could not extrude the curve or use any other features on the curve. Pls advice

• Re: Imported curves as a sketch
          Jerry Steiger

Karthik,

Curves are kind of special entities in SolidWorks. You will probably need to open a sketch and use "Convert Entities" to get usable sketch elements. If the curve lies in a plane, you can use a 2D sketch. If the curve does not, you can use a 3D sketch.

Jerry Steiger

Mark Kaiser

I'm not a curves expert, but I tried to import your curve on a plane in a part, and got the error message shown in the picture.  Looks like you have some clean up to do on the curve points before it is useable?

curve.png

Karthik A

Mark,

I also got the same error. I found out that the points when copied to an excel sheet lose the digits after three or four decimals and it is rounded to the nearest whole number.

Thanks.

Jerry Steiger

Karthik,

It sounds like you need to change the formatting of the Excel spreadsheet. I think you probably need to set the cell format to "General", rather than "Number", or use "Number" with as many places as your original numbers require.

You should probably take the "Correct Answer" off of my first post, since it doesn't really seem to have helped much, if any.

Jerry S.

Karthik A

Jerry,

I have fond your idea useful and it did show up some error but thats due to the improper format in excel. So the suggestion you gave worked. Now the import is done, can i any way manipulate the sketch, i.e. airfoil (like copy it and paste it) in another plane or scale it down inside solidworks like we do in CATIA.

Jerry Steiger

Karthik,