1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 18, 2012 12:24 PM by Anthony Botting

Static Loaded Tyre

San Wong

Hello, I'm new to the simulation side of Solidworks and would appreciate any help.  I have a feeling this is a simple one for someone out there!

I would like to simulate the tread displacement when the tyre comes into contact with the flat surface. As you can see from the screen shot below I have restrained the tyre and would like to apply a force to the flat solid object to make contact and interact with the tyre.  (only static loading required at this point)

Capture.JPG

Again and help would be greatly appreciated.

San

• Re: Static Loaded Tyre
          Anthony Botting

Hi San: This would be highly nonlinear due both to contacts and the elastomer, but you can start "linear" in the sense that the basic simulation package can model the contact side of it - then progress to nonlinear rubber model with large deformation. It will show the rubber deformation up to the point where the elements do not get too distorted - but that's about all.

Take baby-steps (no insult intended):