9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2012 5:10 PM by Jason Ph

How to extrude onto a curvatured surface

Jason Ph

Hi everyone, my name is Jason and I'm just beginning to dabble in SW. I have a question that I've been pulling hair for that past few hours. Before I go bald I am seeking help.

I'm trying to model a motorcycle triple clamp. The top surface is a curvatured profile, as is the bottom surface. I've sketched a profile using a 'cross' plane to get this profile.

profile4.jpg

You can see the profile created, I marked with a red line here:

profile2.jpg

The problem that I can't seem to figure out is I'm trying to extrude the top surface lower, but matching the same profile. So far I've created a surface that is flat (indicated by my blue line in the picture above).

Below is a picture of a model that I'm trying to achieve, which is created by a professional. Notice the profile line that I've drawn in purple, it is curved. This is the curved surface that I'm trying to achieved, but if I create a sketch using a plan and extrude it straight down, it is flat.

profile correct.jpg

So how do I create a sketch so that I can extrude down, yet the surface is curved and not flat? Any help is appreciated.

• Re: How to extrude onto a curvatured surface
          Paul Cullen

Hi Jason

You can only extrude from a plane or planar surface, one way to do this would be to extrude the curved section and then do a cut extrude through it to remove any unwanted material.

You could also extrude a surface by sketching the curve on a plane and then extruding this using the extrude surface tool you can then extrude you sketch with your cutouts up to this.

If you could post your part and the part you want to copy we would be able to help better

Thanks

Paul

Jason Ph

HI Paul,

Thanks for chiming in and sharing your experience.  I think your second method of creating a curve onto a plane, then extruding to this surface would work in the case.