7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2012 2:25 PM by Tim Webb

Unable to checkout componant of an assembly

Mark Smith

Hello all,

Let me start off by saying I am fairly new to Solidworks and really new to ePDM (less than a week).  At this point in time, we are experiancing many difficulties with the transition and our guys are on the phone with Dassault right now trying to figure it out.

I don't think, however, my question is related to our problems so I will ask it here in this forum.

I have an assembly checked out and open on my computer.  As I am doing the changes to the drawing that I need to do, I realize I need to make some changes to a componant of the assembly.  I attempt to check the model out but ePDM says I can't because it is open in another window.  I now have to close all my windows that have that model active (the assembly model and drawing) just to check it out.  This was not how it was in our previous version of Vault.

Am I doing something wrong or is this just how I am going to have to do things from now on????

Any help is appriciated.

Mark

• Re: Unable to checkout componant of an assembly
          Jeremy Feist

if you initiate the check out command from the windows eplorer or EPDM search windows you will get this message. You will want to use the EPDM add-in inside of SW to check out and change state while you have the file open.

Mark Smith

Why wouldn't this behavior be consistant between all ways of possibily doing something?????

Mark

Jeremy Feist

the requiremnet for the file to be closed is the norm. the Add-in gives you a short cut for SW files only.

Mark Smith

Is this a new behavior for ePDM????  I don't think that was how it worked in the Vault. 

Jeremy Feist

I have never used WPDM, but as far as I know EPDM has always been this way.