6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2012 6:32 PM by Karen Brunke

EPDM Newbie - How do I require a filename checking to a variable value before checkin

Karen Brunke

First of all, I am a newbie to EPDM, so I apologize for what will certainly be a string of silly questions as I try to implement it.  I promise to get better and pose really challengine questions in the future.

I would like to REQUIRE a filename to start with a variable defined in its datacard (from the folder datacard) before the file can be checked in to EPDM.  The files can be saved in the folder for temporary used, but if not named properly, cannot be checked in.  I cannot figure out how to validate the filename with a variable OR how to require it for checkin but not enterring the workflow or saving. 

The variable PROJ NUM is defined in the folder template as 12345.  Each file that is CHECKED IN to EPDM from that folder should start with 12345.  However, you can save things not yet having that naming convention to the folder (such as downloaded files, etc.).  If there is a way to get SWX to automatically name each file with that prefix, that would be an added bonus.  A create new part would yield 12345 Part1 at save into this folder instead of Part1.

• Re: EPDM Newbie - How do I require a filename checking to a variable value before checkin
          Tim Webb

Hi Karen,

This is a very good forum where gurus can relate to newbies so you are in good hands. The only silly questions are ones not asked.

Option A

1. I recommend not focusing on the filenaming convention as the primary issue and go straight to making your EPDM template create not only the new folder with serial number but also a blank .sldprt & .pdf with serial number.
          2. Then you can create a dispatch to do a filename check against the data card variable value upon checkin and if they don't match, cancel the epdm checkin command.

Option B (#1 below is what we do)