36 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2012 9:57 AM by Wayne Schafer

SolidWorks complaint

Mark Craig

Dear SolidWorks,

I have been using your product since 1998 and on the most part, think it's a valuable tool for Engineering design.

But I am truly tired of waiting for the bugs to get fixed on a new release, only to find that they haven't, and some more new bugs have appeared!

Are there any plans to have a faultless, bug-free, non-frustrating version of SolidWorks in the future?

Or do we just have to realise that SW is always going to be this way?

Yours

Frustrated

• Re: SolidWorks complaint
          Steve Ostrovsky

Not arguing with you that there are bugs in the program, but do you post this type of comment on forums for all of the products that you use? I work with with MS Word, Excel, SQL Server, Photoshop, Chrome, GoToMeeting and more and THEY ALL HAVE BUGS.

I do know that SolidWorks does fix bugs. I got an SPR notification just yesterday for SPR 383356 which was something I reported on a in June 2011 and it's being implemented in 2014 A1.

My question back to you is - do you work with any faultless, bug-free, non-frustrating software. If you do, please post back so we can all share in its glory.

Mark Craig

Draftsight doesn't cause me any problems.

Part of my frustration is the fact that I have to work to very tight deadlines.

I suppose I wouldn't have learned a fraction of the work-arounds I have if SW had `worked' from the start.

Anna Wood

Mind sharing what the problems are...  Maybe there are solutions you are not aware of that we can help with.

Are you still using SW2010 or have you updated to a newer version?

Cheers,

Anna

Mark Craig

Hi Anna,

I am using SW2012 SP5.

I call the VAR about 3/4 times per week.

7/10 times they help - but the other 3/10 they say SW is dealing with the problem.