8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2012 12:11 PM by Rick Remer

    delete files

    Rick Remer

      From admin training, I thought that file delete in PDM was akin to normal windows (local drive) behavior.  I recently discovered this is in error.  For example, a deleted file still counts toward filename duplication rules.  e.g., if you create and checkin a part file in one folder, delete it, then create the same filename in a different folder, assuming you disallow filename duplication, PDM will block the checkin of the second file.

       

      Of course, in order to truly get rid of a file, you have to DESTROY it, and I think most everyone would agree that right should be reserved for admins.

       

      So, my question is: what do you tell your users about the delete command?  Assuming you allow it, of course.