10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2012 12:44 PM by Jason Capriotti

AutoCAD and SolidWorks

Francis Dalton

Hello,

I am currently an engineering student studying CAD. As an assignment I have to write an essay paper on software that can be used alongside AutoCAD and I was wondering if SW would be a suitable topic or not? If yes could you please give me an example  of what to write about, that would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance

• Re: AutoCAD and SolidWorks
          Joe Kuzich

Hi Francis,

I am still fairly new to SW (SolidWorks) but I'm an old time ACAD (AutoCAD) guy.  From my experience very few people really utilize the 3d ability of ACAD very much.  Even if they did I don't think it will translate into SW, or at least not well.  I'm basing that on the fact that SW constructs the models with certain properties that different from those that ACAD does.  It is my understanding that you can get like a solid mass imported but that it will lack the customizable properties that make SW useful.  Hopefully someone can confirm or correct me, because I am pretty new to SW and could be wrong.  Now with that said I make nearly all of my sketches in ACAD, especially for extrusions that I want.  I then import them as the 2D line work they are and extrude them into the 3D modeled parts I need.  I do this because SW sketching leaves a lot to be desired, in my opinion. For that kind of relationship it works great and I would not want to use SW without ACAD if I could help it.

Joe

Jerry Steiger

Joe,

You are right that importing an AutoCAD model will only get you a solid without features that you can edit. FeatureWorks (available in Professional and Premium) may allow you to build a feature tree, but only if the part is fairly straightforward.