5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2012 6:42 PM by Lenny Bucholz

Importing in 3DM, IGS, RPT, then exporting as an STL

Seb Baucutt

Hi there,

I am a student, new to the forum and looking for a fair bit of help. I was recently on work experience with a large yacht design company in the UK, and whilst there completed a design project of my own choosing. They allowed me to take away the designs to be rapid prototyped at school, and invited me back once I had completed them.

However, the file types that I have are one of either IGS, 3DM, or RPT, having been exported from rhino. Once I import them into Solidworks, they are immediately flagged up by the import diaganostics, as they have 'faulty faces and gaps'. Due to the complexity of the hull surface, I am struggling to see how to fix all 109 of these problems and thus was wondering if anyone would be able to assist either by seeing it as a challenge or walking me through how to do it?

I will happily send the design via email, mine is *baucutts (at) tonbridge-school (.) org*.

Many Thanks

Seb Baucutt

P.s. 3dm file now attached as requested

Message was edited by: Seb Baucutt

• Re: Importing in 3DM, IGS, RPT, then exporting as an STL
          Deepak Gupta

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Seb.

The errors can be sometimes due to un-proper importing from different file format. For a quick test, I opened up your IGS file in SolidWorks and save it as parasolid file. Then I reopened that parasolid file in SolidWorks and all errors were gone. In case you need that, I can send the parasolid file to you or you can try on your own and then create your STL file.

In case this is not what you need, please explain what else you are looking for.

You might also find this post helpful for your future reference.

Lenny Bucholz

Can you also put up the 3DM rhino files?

Seb Baucutt