5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2012 1:25 PM by Dan Millar

Macro to measure and record distance

Dan Millar

Hi all,

I'm quite new to macros and I'm wondering if any one knows how to set up a macro that would be able to open a design table, increment a value by 5, close the design table, then measure the distance between two pre-selected components (essentially the Clearance Verification function) and finally record that value to an excel sheet (a different one from then the design table).

Essentially what I'm trying to do is generate a table that will show the distance between two parts as one of the objects oscillates. I'm then looking to do this in multiple different orientations meaning there are a very high number of repetitions for this procedure (over 30,000).

Being able to automate any part of the procedure would be a great help.

• Re: Macro to measure and record distance
          Keith Rice

This is certainly possible. Using API calls like IDesignTable::EditTable2 you can get a pointer to the Microsoft Excel worksheet in order to edit it. Likewise, you can get the clearance distance between two components using IDragOperator::Clearance.

If you're looking to write this yourself and you're completely new to macros, I would recommend you check out the resources in the link below. You might also benefit from this article to make your learning more efficient: 7 Mistakes New SolidWorks API Programmers Make

Video Tutorials for the SolidWorks API

Dan Millar

Thank you, that was very helpful. However, I'm going to hold off on clicking correct answer until I've had a chance to write the macro.

Dan Millar