4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 7, 2012 3:11 PM by Jerry Steiger

How to make an enclosed surface?

Jason Chan

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Solidworks and am trying to design a Front wing then possibly use it in Solidworks Flow Simulation. I made one up but i have to turn it into a solid, but i am unable to do this as i think the airfoils are too thin at the trailing edge to give thickness.

Another problem that i have, is the endplates of my wings (vertical parts) are not enclosed, i.e. they are open at the front and the back, how do i draw them in solidworks so they are closed?

Hopefully you can understand what i am asking, any help would be greatly appreciated!

I've attached the part, might be easier if you can see what i am doing.

Thanks.

• Re: How to make an enclosed surface?
          John Layne

Had a quick look at the model, not sure why you chose to do this using surfaces? From what I could see all the model can be constructed from solids.

Note I'm using SolidWorks 2012 and you can't save a model in previous version, so I'm unable to model this for you.

Deepak Gupta

Welcome to SolidWorks forums Jason.

I would agree with John that you can use solid loft for your features. And in order to convert your surface model in to solid, close the open areas using planar surface or fill surface command. Then knit them all and use the option "try to make solid".

You might also find this post helpful for your future reference.

Jason Chan

Thanks for the response!