3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2012 5:57 PM by Jeremy Feist

Pro/E to Solidworks translations

Brad Reinagle

I am a former Pro/E user. 19 years. About 6 months on Solidworks.

The company I work for primarily uses NX, but we have a couple seats of Solidworks and we basically will not receive any training to use it to its full potential and our CAD administrator is not a fan of Solidworks so there is limited support from him also. So anything I need to do on here I need to figure out for myself.

So, anyway,

Pro/E and Solidworks have many similarities, but they apply different definitions to the same words.

I.E. Configuration;

In Solidworks “configuration” seems to be about what Pro/E called a “layout”. Basically a combination of features, components and variable values in a either a part model or an assembly model that you can pick and choose from to create different versions of similar related models.

In Pro/E, Configuration refers to how Pro/E is configured for the operator while working in Pro/E. You have a couple different Config.pro files that get loaded into you operating system when you start up a Pro/E session. One is a high level config.pro that sets companywide system default settings for just about every variable you can think of from a CAD operation aspect. Like background colors, default decimal places in sketcher, etc. The next config.pro file is the operators personal settings that may override the initial config file. Then there is also a config.sup  file that like the high level config file, sets companywide default settings but the operators config cannot override them.

So I am familiar with the Pro/E use of the word configuration. Is there anything in Solidworks that is of a similar function? Once in a model file I do go in and change some settings under the “system options” & “document properties”, but I find myself usually changing the same ones so is there a way to pre-set these to default to my preferences?