8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2012 8:44 PM by J. Dm

Thickening Surfaces - best practices

J. Dm

Hello All,

I am a recent graduate and a young Junior designer. One problem that has plagued me for a while is what best practices to use when surfacing for injection moulded parts. I'm familiar with the old design-draft-fillet order of business, but I am still running into some troubles.

I've heard many people say "thicken your surfaces first, then add fillets" to avoid thickening (or shelling) errors of "minimum radius of curvature" creating self-intersections on the inside of the part. My question is this: what if I'm not using fillets to create these tight radii? I often use lofts or boundary surfaces as they provide more control over the surface when creating parts. These inevitably create tight radii in some areas that fail when thickening.

Am I doing things in the wrong order? Or perhaps using the wrong tools? I just spent several hours using offset surfaces, extending edges, trimming, and face filleting to thicken my parts. Very painstaking and inefficient, any feedback would be great, and I suppose I could provide a model if necessary.

JDM

• Re: Thickening Surfaces - best practices
          Lenny Bucholz

J. Dm wrote:

Hello All,

Am I doing things in the wrong order? Or perhaps using the wrong tools?

JDM

J,

to answer your questions above................ YES, NO, MAYBE is the final answer, I'm not being a smart A$$ but a realist.

With time and experiance you will start to learn at what time you should shell then add those nice details to the outside faces that wouldn't translate to the inside using surfaces (replace face, cut with surface or split delete and patch or fill or or or), solid features like swept cut, lofted cuts, multible bodies ( shell each body combine together after).