7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2012 12:55 PM by Jamie Bowerbank

New laptop/mini workstation advice

Jamie Bowerbank

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to buy a new laptop/mini workstation.  I've priced a Lenovo T430, which I am close to buying, but have a couple of questions and am interested in your thoughts about the spec...

Laptop Spec - Lenovo Thinkpad T430

- Intel Core i7-3520M Processor (4M Cache, up to 3.60 GHz)

- Windows 7 Professional 64

- 14.0 HD+ (1600 x 900) LED Backlit Anti-Glare Display, Mobile Broadband Ready

- NVIDIA Optimus Graphics (NVS 5400M, 2GB)

- 8 GB DDR3 - 1600MHz (2 DIMM)

Requirements

I'm in my final year of university, looking to invest in a quality laptop that will last a few years.  My main requirement is portability, but it must have a good level of performance and must be able to take two storage drives (SSD for programs/HDD for general storage).  The 2 storage bays rules most laptops out since I don't want a 17" and am reluctant (but could) go for a 15", its done on the 14" Lenovo using the "ultrabay".  I don't need a full workstation since I have a desktop workstation running i7 3770k.  The idea was is to use the desktop for CPU heavy applications, and the laptop for general use and model creation in solidworks/catia/simulaton/everything else.  As I understand higher clock speed is more important than multiple cores for solidworks.  Which is why I've chosen the i7 3520m processor with 2 cores and a respectable 3.6GHz clock speed.

Questions

1. Am I better off going for a high clock speed dual core processor (like the i7 3520m), than I am going for a quad core processor with a slower clock speed (like the i7 3610qm - 6mb cache/3.3GHz)?
      2. There is the option of choosing an i5 3360m (dual core/3mb cache/3.5GHz) processor which is £82 less.  Is it worth spending the extra £82 for the i7?