14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2012 11:57 AM by Pranav Verma

Stress analysis on automobile rim

Pranav Verma

Hello, I am new to solidworks simulation. I needed some help for my project, that basically aims in finding the stresses developed on a car rim.

What I basically want to know is how to apply a bearing load over an area, as i want to know whether the design of the rim will be able to take the load applied due to the wieght of the car. And how do I go through the simulation. How will a virtual wall help me??

Any other alternatives for finding the stresses, displacements on the rim due to the load acting on it.

I want the rim to be static and the main area of concentration is near the contact surface of the rim with the ground.

I have uploaded the rim I have made for testing.

I look forward for your help!

Thank you in advance.

• Re: Stress analysis on automobile rim
          Anthony Botting

There is a bearing fixture (in "fixtures"), and there is a bearing load (in "external loads").  You would probably need to review the help files on each of the two functions to see how they might be used.

Perhaps a valid approach is to use the virtual wall as the ground, and apply a bearing load to the hub. I cannot recall if needed, but you may have to install contacts between the rim and the virtual wall.

Pranav Verma

I made the virtual wall considering the target plane as the plane where there will be contact(ground and rim). And I applied 5000N bearing load on the hub. I was not able to figure out where to apply the bearing fixture if it has to be applied. Am i going in the right direction? And what should i do about the fixtures??

Anthony Botting

Yes I believe you are fine, but you don't need to apply a bearing fixture, just a fixture on the rim somewhere.

The way I understand it, the "bearing load" and "bearing fixture" can be used to formulate the problem in at least two (equivalent) ways.