4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2012 2:21 PM by Tim Webb

Update supplier info on file data card that is checked in

Andrew Dvorak

Hi folks,

Newbie here. I created a template that creates Supplier folders with the folder cards holding all the info about the suppliers. I was even able to create an SQL list of these supplier folders to add suppliers for my parts in a Combolist dropdown in the part file card. My problem is, I want to be able to add or remove suppliers from the part cards even after the part has been checked-in.

My ultimate concept is that when we want a new supplier to quote or manufacture a part I can add them with the template and then add the supplier to the part data card, AND THEN... run some program that will share the appropriate part drawings (in PDF form) to the supplier folders.

Currently, I have to check the part out, add the supplier and then check the part in. Is there any way around this?

Also, how do I find the registry key to use to check if my SQL list needs updating? Currently I have it set to update every 1 min, but I don't really want that?

Thanks,

Andy Dvorak

• Re: Update supplier info on file data card that is checked in
          Michael Dekoning

Andy,

There may be a feature in EPDM 2013 that may help you with having to check out a file to update it. Watch for the SolidWorks 2013 launch this month.

As to your second question, I have come up with a way to update a list whenever you create a folder using a template. In order to do this you will need to write a Dispatch script. Dispatch is a way to add some custom programming in EPDM without having to write an addin program using the API. There is a chapter in the Administration Guide and you should follow the procedure to add Dispatch to your vault.