5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2012 10:34 AM by Ryan McVay

Solidworks Newbie

Brad Reinagle

Hello All,

I am a Solidworks Newbie.

Been a long time Pro/E user (19 years)

Changed employment and have actually been subjected to NX for awhile.

The company I work for reluctantly got a couple seats of Solidworks because of some partnerships and aquisitions with other companies etc.

So fortunately I am restricted to omly NX anymore. But all of my Solidworks experience has been OTJ training. I have the modeling aspect down fairly well

But I am struggling with drawing issues.

So I will be on these pages quite a bit.

Please be patient with me, as I will frequently reference Pro/E as that is where the majority of my CAD experience comes from.

Looking forward to being a member on here.

Thanks,

Brad

• Re: Solidworks Newbie
          Jeremy Feist

welcome.

I would start with the built-in tutorials (under help->SolidWorks Tutorials) that should at least get you familiar with the features and terminology.

Chris Michalski

Welcome Brad. 

I'm sure you'll find a wealth of knowledge and many very helpful people here. 

Don't be afraid to ask questions, no matter how simple they seem.  I was with Mech Desktop for 10 years before switching to Solidworks 12 years ago and I still learn new things just by watching the forums for interesting topics.  (Plus it's comforting to know that other people rant about the same issues.)

Jeff Holliday

Glad to have in the discussion group. I would highly suggest finding the closest SWorks User Group to your location also. There are a large number of them throughout the World. You can find the listings on the Community section of the SWorks Customer Portal. No charge, no commitment, just good people sharing and learning like you!

Ryan McVay

Brad-