6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2012 9:59 PM by Samuel Leith

Custom Property / Cut-list question

Glenn Schroeder

Hello,

I'm detailing a multi-body weldment part.  I've created a custom property in the cut-list that calls out the structural member type (HSS4x4x1/4, C8x18.75, etc.).  In addition to this column in the cut-list, the construction supervisor here has asked me to call out this information on the drawing view of the body, which is often on another sheet.  I've tried to figure out how to link a note to this property but haven't had any luck.  It may be simple, but I'm relatively new to using custom properties and I can't figure it out.  Any ideas?

• Re: Custom Property / Cut-list question
          Bjorn Hulman

You can assign custom property fields to balloons. Just remove the circle style.

Alin Vargatu

One possible solution:

1. In the new sheet, create a phanthom drawing view of the weldment.

2. Attach a note to the body in question (with a leader)

3. In the note type $PRPWLD: "name of property"

4. Move the drawing view outside of the sheet space

5. Hide the leader and move the note wherever you need.

Note: most likely this workflow can be simplified a lot.

Daen Hendrickson

Glenn,

To expand on what Alin has said:

We do similar type annotations and it should be straight forward (although cutlist property manipulation can be flaky at times).

In our multi-body weldment part, we have added custom properties in the cutlist properties for each body.

In the drawing, we have a view of the complete weldment multi-body part along with a cutlist. You aren't required to have the overall view. But if you don't have the cutlist in your drawing (it does not have to be on the same page as the individual body views) then this technique will show the custom property of the overall part file, not the body specific property - at least that is the behavior I have observed.