3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2012 3:01 PM by Alexander Hermansson

[Student] Need help with a minor project

Alexander Hermansson

Hey there! I recently started using Solidoworks at my school and we got a homework over the summer vacation to build a computer desk.

Keep in mind that I'm a rookie so I'm quite bad .

Okey to the point... I'm currently stuck at a place and I've been trying to work it out for several hours without getting anywhere.

http://ss.files.yey.nu/Ej3aQHUs.png  okey so there it is nothing impressive really..

Okey so the problem is over here:

http://ss.files.yey.nu/gXEBSL0R.png

I can't get the hole in the tree "platform" to fit the hole in the iron pipe ..been trying to measure etc etc .. But I just can't get it to work.

So some help would be awsome.. I'm attatching all the files for download.

The tree platform is called "datorhållare" and the pipe "datorbenet" and  "realrealassemblu" is the assemly.

Thanks in advance

// Grim

(Not sure which thread I should put this post in.. so if it's wrong please move it )

http://ss.files.yey.nu/gXEBSL0R.png

• Re: [Student] Need help with a minor project
          Alan Stoldt

Alexander,

When you measure , you can change the precision of the units displayed.

Snap2.jpg

With the units changed to show (8) decimal places, your Y dimension is off, if only by a little bit.

.0043mm is a KM to solidworks.

I hope this helps some,

Regards,

Alan

Bernie Daraz

Alan is right, .0043mm is a mile. If nothing can move to make the mate work, you will have to provide some room or remove some mates. The trick to mating is using a few as possible. I don't want to download a 16MB file so I'll make some guesses, too many mates is my first. You might be better off to delete them all and start again.