6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2012 5:36 AM by Kevin De Smet

Flow simulations with surfaces

Carlos Garcia

Hello,

I would like to do a simulation with flow simulation in a model made with surfaces, but the software says that there has to be at least one component for the analysis.

Is it not possible to do an analysis with a surfaces model, just with a solid model?

Specifically I have a car modeled with surfaces and i want to do an aerodynamic analysis, drag, down force etc...

How could i do this?

Thanks in advance!

I am just learning flow simulation.

• Re: Flow simulations with surfaces
          Chris Michalski

Add thickness to your surfaces.  As long as you don't need flow on both sides of the surfaces, if you give them thickness it can solve the flow conditions.

Carlos Garcia

Thanks, I tried it but i cant give thickness, i get an error... Maybe giving thinckness at the beggining, so surface by surface while you are building them.... but once all them are made i cant..

Anyway it should be easier and faster to solve a problem with surfaces instead of solids, due that the mesh would be shells and not solid elements.

Chris Michalski

The problem is that flow requires thickness to separate gases.  If you try to make 2 blocks touch only along an edge >< it sees zero thickness at the interface and gas passes right through.  With a surface of zero thickness the gas passes right through also.

How to get your surfaces to function right with thickness.... someone else would have to pop in, I don't work in surfaces, everything we do is machined from billet. 

First thing, if possible, post your models here (reply and click advanced editor in the upper right) would make it easier for others to attempt to help. 

Bill McEachern