AnsweredAssumed Answered

Green light for new workstations

Question asked by Patrick Couture on Jul 16, 2012
Latest reply on Aug 6, 2012 by Patrick Couture

Hi!

I finally got the green light on new workstations and I hope I can get some clarifications on what to choose!

Here some background info: We need two new workstations, my colleague is the senior mechanical engineer and he is in charge of projects, he does a fair bit of SW but in total it may be 50 to 60% of his time. He needs to be mobile because he often have to work on site and from home. For my part I am a mechanical designer and I do 95% of my time on SW, I sometimes needs to work from home and occasionnaly I bring my PC on the shop floor to measure and model existing machines. We currently work on two Lenovo W500 that gave us good service but are now screaming to be relieved of their duties. I'd rather keep working on a mobile workstation for all the freedom it gives me but if the compromise is worth it I may look at a desktop as an option.

I work on assemblies from very simple to mainly 1000 to 4000 parts and occasionnaly on some 10 000 parts layout. My parts are fairly simple, and I don't use any FEA or Rendering applications on a regular basis.

I always work on my local drive and I synchronise my files at least once a week.

My bosses expect to get a good mobile workstation for under 2000$ Canadian but I may be able to convince them to go up to 2500$

Here are my questions:

1. What is the best configuration available for me? I'm able to spec the new Lenovo W530 as such:

Processor: i7-3520m

Win 7 pro 64

15.6" HD+ (1600 x 900)

Graphics: Nvidia Quadro K2000m

Memory: 8 GB PC3-12800 DDR3 (2 dimm)

Hard drive: 320 GB Hdd, 7200 rpm

Battery: 9 Cell Li-Ion

Total of 1 949.00$

1a. Is it better to have a dual core processor at higher clock speed than a quad core at lower speed or the turbo boost even things up? I can get the i7-3720qm for 35$ more so either ones are ok.