13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2012 2:21 PM by Nathan Gustafson

Hilux Chassis..

Nik Owen

Hi guys & gals..

I'm pickling my brains trying to get started on modeling this chassis

[IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/0803/an1mal_69/854runnerFrame.gif[/IMG]

whats the best way to go about it?  I am a beginner, is this running before i can walk?

• Re: Hilux Chassis..
          Nik Owen

just to add, the accuracy of the cross bracing etc is not important really, its just the chassis rails im after.

many thanks (in advance)

Nik.

Jerry Brian

Draw a dotted line construction line down the center.

Draw the left side and then mirror it.

There I just cut you work in half :-)

Are your requirements later going to be that you need to take off a crossmember and work on that? Or can you just draw it all as 1 part?

You can make it a part, or an assembly of parts.

Nik Owen

thanks for the 'mirror' tip!!

Its really for mocking up suspension designs, so just one brace at the front & rear will suffice.  I will add different cross members with different designs etc.

My main issue was getting the correct curves & the fluting of the chassis from a 76mm to 140mm section.  Would it be best practice to do this using different planes for each change in axis?

Also I'm guessing it would be easier to model it as a solid as opposed to the 3mm box section it is?

thanks again,

Nik..

Jerry Brian

You can model it as solid and use the shell feature to hollow it out after.

You can mirror a sketch easy or you can make a left rail and then easily click on create a mirror part.

Its kinda funny. the drawing does not specify all the geometry of the rails.

It does give exact locations for mounting points. It kinda does not matter if the rails are off a little as long as the mounting points are right you can assemble the truck!!

You never know where something not shown like an exhaust pipe might hit the rail then though.

So with this drawing it will be ... That Looks About Right.