9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2015 11:40 AM by Jared Conway

CO2 Gas flow analysis

Shahar Dor Zidon

Hi guys

I’m new to flow simulation & would like to ask couple of questions:

• I understood that you can’t do gas particle analysis, why is that?
      • I’m trying to simulate a co2 bubbler in an open space (just a room), don’t really know what should be my boundary condition (should I set up it as a mixture of air & co2)
      • I would like to simulate the co2 particle flow, is there any way to do that? 

Thanks guys

Appreciate the help

Shahar

• Re: CO2 Gas flow analysis
          Nathan Satter

Flow Simulation cannot deal with mixing fluids. You can have separate fluids/gases but they must be completely separated.

However you can run a particle study. This is run completely in the post processor (not part of the input data). You can inject whatever size particles (solid or liquid) you would like at a given mass flow rate. Of course the behavior is highly dependent on the particle size.

Otherwise if you want to run a mixing analysis, you need to look at other CFD packages that utilize volume of fluids methods.

Chris Michalski

Shahar -

Flow simulation can use multiple fluids mixing as long as they are in the same state (mixing gases or mixing liquids).  I often study the mixing of process gases to determine local concentration maxima/minima.

If you want to study the bubbler as CO2 gas bubbles pass through a liquid the answer is no.  If the actual bubbling action is not important but you simply need the mixing of CO2 from a small source into the air in the room, then yes, Flow simulation will calculate the volume or mass fraction as the gases mix.

If the room starts as 100% air when you first start CO2 injection then yes, set the ambient condition to 100% air.  Then when you add your boundary condition of CO2 input make sure to select 100% CO2.