10 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2012 7:30 AM by Eugeny Kalashnikov

Stuck at surfacing

Eugeny Kalashnikov

Hello folks, I am a student in Industrial Product Design, at the moment I'm modelling a hunting knife in Solidworks

I made a real size model out of ploystyrene foam. Now I've done pretty wel in reconstructing all the surfaces (using the loft command), but I really got stuck at that curve where my thumb is supposed to fit...I haven't really had a course at freeforming yet so I'm trying to find my way with lofts and sweeps, cut extrudes and other basic comannds. If any of you have suggestions on how to fix it, they will be very, very welcome!

I will include some pictures to help visualise the situation.

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s311/Yev300/401643_4015943523114_1417112814_33517751_1460779339_n.jpg

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s311/Yev300/Kalashnikov_Eugeny_Handen_Jagersmes.jpg

Thanks for your time!

• Re: Stuck at surfacing
          Jeff Mowry

Those are tricky.  Can you post the file?  Which version are you using (v2011, v2012)?

Seeing where you are now, consider using split lines to remove the areas of this surface that do not create the scalloped surface, then set up some surfaces to form a Fill or Loft for your inner surface, then loft your thin crescent-shaped surface from the edge of your new scalloped surface to the edge of your split-line-removed handle surface.

If you post the file, I can show you how to do this a bit better in the model.

Eugeny Kalashnikov

I use the solidworks 2011 student version.

I added the file to the original post, sorry it is quite sloppy and undefined. I only want a quick 3D model for some renders I have to use on my presentation poster. Thanks for looking into it!

Jeff Mowry

OK, below are some snapshots of what I meant--also a bit quick/sloppy, but it should illustrate the point.

screenshot3482.jpg

screenshot3483.jpg

screenshot3484.jpg