11 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2012 5:16 PM by Gerard Boterman

Design without constrains -- sketching everything fixed

Gerard Boterman

My background is KeyCreator, a program that works without contrains, not having to define relations for every element I draw/sketch.

Unfortunate I need to use Solidworks, which is a great program, but the amount of time it takes to create (one-off) assemblies of machines, fixutres and jigs is about four times as long as my previous software, just because of having to define all the relations, while if my idea changes (or evolves) during the design process, I need to retrieve and change, sometimes delete these relations, which refer to assembled parts. This results often in having to restore, redefine or even redraw parts -- very time consuming and a huge contrain in my productivity.

To overcome this problem, during the design process, it would be great if I could switch off any relations, definitions, etc, and draw everything 'fixed'.

Can this be done in Solidworks?

Any suggestions welcome.

Cheers, Gerard

• Re: Design without constrains -- sketching everything fixed
          Jan Venema

when you mate in an assembly you can selest use for posioning only, after that you can rmb on the part and select fix.

the part has no mates and is fixed in the assy

Roland Schwarz

Learn to use master layout sketches to construct parts and assemblies.

Don't let the 99%ers tell you that constrained sketches are necessary.  Once a sketch is closed, nothing moves, everything stays where you left it.

Kelvin Lamport

Sketching everything "Fixed" would be worse than creating a fully defined sketch.

If an edit to a fixed sketch was needed, the sketch elements would have to be unfixed, edited and then re-fixed.

Fully defined sketches are not necessary, but for the type of parts I create, I prefer to use them  so that I can predict the affect of an edit.