8 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2012 3:53 PM by Joe Kuzich

Where should I start looking to learn to make variable assemblies that can be reused?

Joe Kuzich

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to SW (old school AutoCAD guy) and can see a lot of potential here.  The company I'm with is fairly new to SW also and even with some classes behind us we're stumbling a bit through the learning curve. What I'm trying to do now is to create an type of universal assembly (I think it would be an assembly) that I can put into other jobs. 

Think of it as a window.  It would have 4 sides made up of the same frame extrusion (a top & bottom piece) with separate gaskets following the frame.  In side that would be the glazing (glass, acrylic, polycarbonate, etc).  I want to be able to start a new job and copy this Assembly into the new job folder and change the overall size of it.  That part isn't very complicated. 

Where it starts to get interesting to me is that the frame on each side can only become so long until another section is required.  And each of these sections need to have mounting holes auto spacing while adding and deleting as needed.  This means that the smaller windows frame will have 45 deg. cuts on both ends while larger ones may have 45 & 90 on two end pieces with a piece(s) in the middle with (2)90's.  To add to that the glass can only be a certain width.  Once it reaches that width a mullion would have to insert into model and adjust the end glass panels to be equal sizes.  I would really even like to include the screws into this Assembly.