10 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2012 10:53 AM by Jerry Steiger

Poor Benchmark test results

James Fogg

Hi,

I am new to Solidworks, having used Pro-E in the past. Up until yesterday, i thought Solidworks was absolute rubbish, everything runs really slow, regenerating for ages etc. then i ran the bench mark tests and the results are about 8 times slower than similar systems on the comparison tables. i got 344.9 for the CPU and 178.1 for the graphics, if you arrange the order of the table for the slowest system, mine will probably come pretty far up the list . Considering this system was recomended by solidworks i am a bit surprised. it is a dell i7 M4600 laptop with a NVIDIA Quadro 1000m graphics card. has anyone got any tips to speed up the system, or programs that are running in the background that could cause such poor times in the benchmark test? any help would be appreciated, i have never had to sort hardware stuff before. many thanks

• Re: Poor Benchmark test results
          Kelvin Lamport

First suggestion is to run the SolidWorks Rx tool and see what it reports.

Start > All Programs > SolidWorks 2012 > SoldWorks Tools

Anna Wood

What is the model of CPU that is in the system?  The CPU is everything for SolidWorks performance.

Go to Windows Power Options and select High Performance.  Windows 7 installs a Balanced profile by default.

Be sure you have the correct graphics card driver for your system.

http://www.solidworks.com/sw/support/videocardtesting.html

Cheers,

Anna

Tim Glavin

James,

We have a Dell Precision 6600 (similar setup) we use as a demo machine.

We sometimes swap out the hard drive (actualy the SSD) to test installs of different software configurations.

At one point we found this otherwise blazingly fast machine was running like a dog. We discover the Windows experience index for the machine had dropped to 1.0 for the graphics. With a Windows Experience Index of only 1.0, SolidWorks was using software OpenGL.