6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2012 12:47 PM by David Kinahan

Export a section view of 3D part as a DXF

David Kinahan

Hi All,

I am relatively new to Solidworks so I was hoping you could help out with what is probably an obvious question!

My current workflow is I design my parts in Solidworks and then they are machined in multiple layers/depths. The easiest way I have found to do this is make a drawing from a part/assembly, make some section views and safe these as DXFs. I then use other sofware to remove the hatching etc.

One of my colleagues showed me how to skip the intermediate step and save a face as a dxf directly from the 3D part. However what I really want to do is export a section view (annotation view) as a DXF as this will cut the intermediate step, save some time etc.

I can create a section annotation view. However then the problem starts -  I go File>Save As>DXF and select the 'Export Annotation Views' option. I select only my 'Section View' in the list of options and press the green check mark. The DXF cleanup window appears.......and I don't get a my section - instead I get whatever I would see if the section was not there.

Is there any way to make this section view option work? Preferably where I only see edges cut by the section on export (and no hatching etc).

Many thanks in advance,

David

• Re: Export a section view of 3D part as a DXF
          Scott McFadden

David,

Welcome to the forum.

Curious, how are you creating these different level cut faces?  With configurations?  Adjusting the cut depths?

David Kinahan

Hi Scott,

Thank you for the welcome.

Aplogies if this is no the correct answer to your question - as I said I am quite new to Solidworks and am not fully familiar with all the features and terminology - I think hwat i am doing is adjusting the cut depth.