4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 29, 2012 3:34 PM by Wayne Matus

Can dispatch copy the SW Part card into another folder?

Ty Toney

I'm looking to automate my new project creation as much as I can. I'm just starting to learn C# so that I can get into API, I'm trying to figure a dispatch solution in the meantime. Is dispatch able to copy a file card template into another folder? I have a folder based numbering system that requires a file card template in each folder where parts and assemblies are placed. What I'd like is to have it that when a new project is created that a copy of the SW Part and Assy file card templates are placed into each of the sub project folders. What I'm planning to use as a trigger is when a .mpp file is added to the vault. What is daunting me is the file paths in the copy function. If I direct it to the appropriate file card template in the source line, how do I direct it to the folders of the new project? If I use the funtion 'filepathtoselectedfile' is that going to use the file path to the source file card template or the .mpp file?

• Re: Can dispatch copy the SW Part card into another folder?
          Joy Garon

Hello Ty,

Unfortunately the answer is no.

This is an enhancement request I often hear (Template definition: allow file data card to be placed into specified folder)

Please feel free to report this as an enhancement request.

I'd be interested from hearing from any admin out there (Lou, Wayne, Jeff, etc) who may have found a way to do this

Regards,

Joy

Ty Toney

Joy,

Is this something that could be accomplished with API? I created a numbering scheme that works for my company, unfortunately it also creates a lot of administration in creating a new project. We only have one or two project a year, but all the manual additions allows for mistakes.

Thanks,

Ty

Joy Garon

Hi Ty,

I'm not a programmer so, I think I'll defer to the programmers in the group on that one