9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2012 3:05 PM by Tanner Moore

Search for multiple files from different folders

Tanner Moore

Hi,

I'll start by apologizing if there is already a thread on this. If there is, I was unable to find it.

I am a CNC programmer who is responsible for taking part drawing files and nesting and coding them for our CNC router. Recently some of our designs have become much more complex and sub assemblies, as well as their parts and part drawings are now being saved in multiple folders under the main job number. In order to program the parts I am responsible for, I now must gather my drawing files from different folders, sometimes requiring me to open 10 or more folders just to gain access to 20-30 files. The process has become quite cumbersome and I would like to simplify it. I've discussed having the designer copy the files I need to a separate folder but that notion was not well received.

Can I use EPDM to search for multiple files from multiple folders all at once? If I could somehow have the computer automatically populate a list of parts by serial number that would be really helpful and would save me a lot of time. Even if EPDM will not work this way, does anyone have a suggestion about how I may take a different approach?

Thanks.

• Re: Search for multiple files from different folders
          Jeremiah Davis

This is actually quite simple for EPDM to perform this search.  If you are using the Complete Search form, you can set your directory to the root of the vault, set your "Name" to ".sldprt .sldasm .slddrw" or if you are only interested in drawings, ".slddrw". Then, depending on how the serial number is placed in the documents, on the Variables tab, search for the Serial Number you specify, or in the Number field on the Name and Location tab, or however it is you placed it in the document.

This should give you an entire list of all of the files that contain that serial number regardless of directory.

Brian Dalton