13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2019 10:16 AM by Jay Seaglar

Material Not Applying in Simulation

Kerry Brunner

I am a student using SolidWorks Simulation for the first time and am having trouble.  I have downloaded the software on my computer and everything works properly except one thing.  I can apply a material in the "Modeling" portion of Solidworks and all material properties show up.  Unfortunately, it doesnt not carry over into the "Simulation" portion.  Then, even if i manually go in and try to apply it again, it simply doesn't let me.  The appropriate materials box shows up, and the material properties are all defined, however when I click "Apply" nothing happens.  This occurs for files I have created as well as the SolidWorks Simularion Tutorials which are given.  I can apply forces and fixtures appropriately, however I can not simulate because it will not let me select the material.

The most frustrating thing, is that I can use it on a friends computer and everything works properly.  I follow the same steps on both computers and yet mine will not work.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled the program and still no success.  Any ideas?

• Re: Material Not Applying in Simulation
          Paul Kellner

Have you read the help and done any tutorials available?

Art Radomski

We are having a similiar issue also with material properties lossing information and preventing the simulation from running.  Currently we are working with our VAR to figure out what is going on, we do not have an answer yet.

Kerry Brunner

Paul:  I have done the tutorials and the same problem occurs.  Also, I am using Solidworks 2011 SP3.

Paul Kellner