5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2012 4:43 PM by Corey Hinman

Check-in without revision

Joseph Lewinski

Okay folks.  Be easy on me.  I'm an extreme noob with ePDM.  What is the best way to take an existing project and put it into Enterprise WITHOUT adding a revision level?  Do I need a workflow to it or can I just move everything over?

joe

• Re: Check-in without revision
          Corey Hinman

Everything that gets checked in must meet the conditions of at least 1 workflow. You do not "need" a revision, as it a variable. The only thing you really need is a file.

You can make a generic workflow that has no incoming filters (right click on workflow->properties). Make a single state. Everything moved over will go in that state, and you could set up additional workflows and links to them later, but that is a pain in the arse....how many files are you migrating?

Joseph Lewinski

Hi Corey!

I know that this is not the way to go under normal circumstances, but Upper-Level Mgmt. is screaming to see some action w/ePDM.  We finally finished prototyping a project and I thought that this would be a good time to bring it in to ePDM (ought to satisfy the people who sign the paychecks ).

Anyway, I've got just shy of 1,000 cad files that I'll need to bring in this way.  I need to bring them in at whatever version they are currently saved as.  From this point forward, they will need to go through one of ore ECO workflow's.  At least that's the way I've envisioned it .  If it works as expected, new projects will START in the vault as they should.

joe

Jeremy Feist

your VAR should be able to help you with the details - here is the short version of how we got our existing cAD files into our vault.