90 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2016 1:58 PM by Paul Salvador

I want real threads! Does SW STILL not have this?

Chris Kulig

I'm making a 3D model that I'm going to 3D print for a product show. I've got 1/2-13 standard threads and the only option I have in SW is cosmetic? I've got all the computing power I need and another 3D modeling program that does real threading from a library easily. Please, please tell me SW has a way of showing how the threads actually will be, i.e. carving them out inside the hole for real, real threads. Trying to convince my company to go completely to SW, but it's goofy stuff like this that are hanging things up. I see some posts that say, well you just helically cut it out yada yada, but I'm an Electrical Engineer with no clue as to the shape and pitch and whatnot. HELP!

• Re: I want real threads! Does SW STILL not have this?
          dink dinkler

Use the helix/spiral fucntion under the curves menu and use that as a path for a swept cut. Make your profile to sweep the same as that of your threads.

That should od the trick if you prefer.

If you are looking to animate and actually show the bolt screwing in... thats a whole 'nother ball of wax.

John Stoltzfus

Good afternoon Chris,

All you'll hear is the yada yada, because SW is a product that kind of copies how a part is made or developed, so yes you do need to cut it using a helix.

The picture below is the first plastic print job that I did in 2000 and the thread is a 3/4" NPT (pipe thread), which is tapered, after this part came back from the printer I could actually turn on a 3/4" pipe fitting.

If your job is a simple part upload it and someone will grab it when they have time and do it for you or show you how it is done in a simple fashion.

If you have completed all the courses it takes to become a Electrical Engineer, surely you can do something as simple as making a thread, we'll help.

Later,

John

Cloydy-1.JPG

Jeremy Feist