4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 29, 2012 12:36 PM by Wayne Matus

URES Displacement

S. H

Hi all,

I am new to SolidWorks and have been designing some parts to be milled. I am using SimulationXpress to analyze whether a part I am designing can handle a load.

I am trying to figure out if the below part can hold 150lbs in the downward direction on the front face. The analysis produced the following results.

I am not a qualified engineer and, as such, trying to understand the results. Is this suggesting then at the top of my model, with 150lb, it will be displaced by 28.16mm?

Screenshot on 1.27.2012 at 6.36.54 PM.png

Many thanks.

• Re: URES Displacement
          Kevin De Smet

One of the things to realize about finite element analysis, even in SolidWorks with its straight-forward easy to use interface, is that it is still very dependent on mathematics that date to way back; meaning there are plenty of things you should be aware of when doing analyses and interpreting the results, or you will be deceived by the software!

Firstly, whenever you get large displacements you can no longer assume a linear static analysis, which is what SimulationXpress is capable of doing. That is because it can not account for the stress softening or stiffening of the stucture as it takes this big deformation.