11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2017 1:12 PM by Ben Stoe

Architectural Floor Plan

John Roosa

How do I use SW 2011 to create 2D floor plans?

• Re: Architectural Floor Plan
          Timothy Holman

I have used solidworks drawings to create floor plans for evacuation routes and simple things like that.  You can create a new drawing an just use the sketch tools to create the plan. 

John Roosa

Thanks Tim.  I'm new to SW and still trying to find my way around.  I believe I also need to change units to feet and inches?  Will this then show as I draw the lines?

Timothy Holman

SolidWorks does not have a reputation for being a great architectural design software.  You can use the tools available to get a result.  It is weird working with large sketches in a drawing because when you sketch it does not scale.  You do want to change your units to feet and inches you can do this through the document properties but what you may want to do is create the sketch on a plane in the part enviornment then save that part file that is just a sketch and insert that into a drawing because then you can scale it as you wish and maintain the correct dimensions.  if you sketch a ten foot wall in a drawing it will be much bigger than your drawing sheet. 

Anna Wood

John,

SolidWorks is not the best tool for 2D work.

Try Draftsight, www.draftsight.com, it is a very good, FREE, AutoCAD 2D clone.

Cheers,

Anna

John Stoltzfus

Good morning John,

Someone used to AutoCAD for floor plans would throw out SW quite quickly, however I have used it for years doing site plans for large projects.  I have a library of equipment that I just insert and go, what I like is I can do it quicker in SW then my co-worker can do it in AC and I have instant on the go 3D.

I wouldn't even consider using AC, goes to show that it's what you like and what your used to,

Later,

John

Anna Wood

John S.

Are you doing 2D sketching in SolidWorks in a slddrw or 3D modeling of your floor plans?

Cheers,

Anna