4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2011 4:02 PM by Brian Zias

Heat transfer through simple object

Sean MacLeod

I am new to the simulation part of solidworks and am having trouble. I have tried to find a tutorial on how do to what I need but my case is so over simplified that all of the help is more advanced than my problem. The problem is:

I have a triangular geometry with corners at a fillet ( my shape is irrelevant, i just need the process so lets treat it as it's a wall). I am trying to simulate the heat transfer through this "wall" by heating one side. I need one side of the wall to be at lets say 1600 K and need to know how it transfers through the wall and view the transient solution until it reaches equillibrium. Can anyone help with this simple problem? If you need more details just ask.

Thanks!

• Re: Heat transfer through simple object
          Jerry Steiger

Sean,

The guys who know what they are talking about haven't answered yet, so I try to help out.

How much do you know about thermodynamics and heat transfer?

If I read you correctly, you have a triangular shaped part and you are applying heat to one of the triangular faces and want to know how fast the other triangular side heats up and what temperature it will stabilize at. Is that correct?

What is happening on the opposite wall? Is it exposed to air, water, another wall?

Is your part relatively thin, so it doesn't really much matter what happens on the thin outer edges? Or is it long and skinny and will lose most of the heat through those outer edges?

What kind of heat transfer coefficients do each of the faces have?

The first thing I would do is work out an approximation by hand to see what you expect the long term behavior to be. You may not even need to run a simulation. If you do run a simulation, you will have an expected answer to test against the result to see if you think it is reasonable.

Jerry Steiger

Sean MacLeod