4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2011 6:11 AM by Gareth Pugh

Ice Breaker Ship Modelling

Gareth Pugh

Good Afternoon,

I am relatively new to Soldiworks and am conducting a study into the potential of using Solidworks to model a ship crashing through ice. I am essentially looking for some experienced users of the software to advise me if this would be possible using the simulation aspects? Ideally I need to model it dynamically; but statically would also be useful.

Any direction or help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

gp11g08

• Re: Ice Breaker Ship Modelling
          Bill McEachern

What exactly are you trying to determine? Propulsive force for the boat? Loads on the hull? Trajectories of the broken ice bits?

Chances are bit slim for any of the above. But maybe not. Depends on how you are looking at the problem.

Gareth Pugh

Thanks for the reply - I am trying to look at loads on the hull of the ship. Do you think this would be possible? I am also investigating using LS DYNA/ANSYS but these seem to be a lot more complicated to use.

Thanks!

Bill McEachern