10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2011 3:20 PM by Paul Becker

SolidWorks Simulation on Imported Assembly

Yash Bhaskar

Hi All,

I want to perform various solidworks simulation like thermal, motion analysis etc on an assembly created in autodesk inventor. So my question is can we perform these test directly on the imported assembly or do I need to convert it to solidworks file and give all the mate relations first?

Kindly share your experience of SWX Simulation as I am new to it.

Best Regards,

Yash

• Re: SolidWorks Simulation on Imported Assembly
          Hemant Patel

you canot perform motion analysis on imported assembly as mates are not preserved on importing of any assembly u need to give mates individually and about thermal i dont know much about it.

Paul Becker

Structural or Flow simulation would not care whether it is imported geometry.

Hemant is correct regarding Motion.  Motion analysis would make use of existing mates in order to define DOF between components in the assembly.  Otherwise, it would simply be a collection of unconnected parts.  You would need to define each of the mates.  An alternative may be to purchase translator that can preserve the mates from Inventor.  I'm not sure if such a translator even exist.  You might search the SW partner products or the web in general...

If you have a large assembly but motion is only occuring between a limited number of components, then you can create rigid groups and will only need to define a limited number of mates.

Yash Bhaskar

Hi Paul,

Can I take it as SWX simulation can easily be used for static analysis of imported parts and not the dynamic analysis.

Regarding translators, few days back I came across TansMagic a partner product for SolidWorks, due you have any idea about it?

Thanks & Regards,

Yash

Paul Becker