32 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2011 9:04 AM by Karl Mohr

Drag coefficient problems

Adzuan Aziz

hi everyone,

im currently studying about drag coefficient for savonius turbine for my thesis.im trying to simulate the drag coefficient of half bucket design using flow simulation,but the result that i got from the simulation is not accurate compare to the text book drag.In my simulation result i got 0.8463  and the text book drag is 1.2.

I am very new to this flow simulation thing and just learned it bit by bit from the internet.I dont know where the problem is.here i attach some of the photo that maybe can help you guys find my mistake.

btw,i used water,0.4m/s external flow velocity,reynolds number is about 40000

please help me!

• Re: Drag coefficient problems ; urgent.
          Karl Mohr

What mesh level (in the Wizzard) are you using? (unlikely to get much closer without Mesh set to 8!)

Presume you are looking to simulate flow in the -X direction?!

Good idea to use a plot (cut plot) with velocity vectors turned on to cofirm that you have the flow in the right direction!

Adzuan Aziz

mesh level?did you mean result resolution that have number 1~8?.i set it to 6.

and yes.fluid flowing in x direction.

Adzuan Aziz

hi karl,

i did set mesh level to 3 and manage to get 1.13 of drag which is better than before.

then i also tried simulate the opposite site of the half bucket which the drag coefficient is larger (2.3).but i didnt get my simulation result near to that.(i got approv. 1.653).

also i tried simulate on plate model(100mmx100mm) but also i didnt got any close result.

here i attach the screenshot of the opposite site halfbucket(drag 2.3) model cut plot.

halfpipe_2_cutplot.jpg

David Maxham