9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2011 1:18 PM by Keith Ewing

Load Capacity of a Cart

Keith Ewing

Can someone please help me with determining the load capacity of a cart assembly?

I am new to simulation and do not have enough time to tackle it on.

• Re: Load Capacity of a Cart
          Sander Buys

Here is how I would do it:

Get rid of the bolts and the wheels. Mesh the profiles using beam-elements. At fixed geometry fixtures to the 4 bottom joints (these represent the points where your cart is connected to the wheels). Create a bonded contact between the plate and the beams supporting it. Apply an arbitrary load to the top-plate (force or pressure, depending on what you want). Run the analysis.

From these results you should be able to determine the maximum Load (depending of course on your criteria: FOS allowable displacement and so on).

To got somewhat more realistic results you can use an advanced fixture to manually create some sort of roller/slider fixture to the bottom joints. But you will have to stabilize your model with softsprings my guess if you do so...

Keith Ewing

Thanks for the tips! I'll be working on it.

Sander Buys

couldn't help it, i created the study for you. Altough I noticed one thing : the "the roller fixture" I tried to create using an advanced reference geometry seems to result in just a normal fixture without any degrees of freedom.But my guess is that it won't affect your results that much, it will just result in a slightly higher value for the stress. But better this than the other way around. Consider it as an extra Factor of Safety.

Does anybody know if it is even possible to create something like a roller fixture to a joint of a beam ? Just curious about that...

Before I forget : I created the study using Solidworks 2011, don't have any previous versions installed anymore.