12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2012 11:07 AM by Mike Agan

Plotting high quality fast

Jeff Parmentier

I'm new to this blog so please bear with me.

I need to plot drawing files with shaded views and embedded jpeg files in high quality to an HP Designjet T1200 Postscript plotter.

The drawing file is 42 MB and the part model is 42 MB.

I'm running 2011 SP 4.0 on a Dell T7500 64 bit work station with 12 GB ram. It takes me roughly 23 minutes to spool a high quality plot at my computer before it is sent to the plotter. This locks up this session of Solidworks.

Then it take another 30 minutes for the plotter to process and 2 minutes to plot.

I created a PDF file. If I do get a good PDF file which only takes about 1 minute, it takes about 2 minutes to send to the plotter.

It then takes between 5 & 10 minutes at the plotter processing before plotting.

I want to avoid this PDF step if possible.

We have a batch program to plot, create a jpg of the part model, create a pdf file of the drawing and a parasolid of the model file for the shop.

Thanks for any help.

• Re: Plotting high quality fast
          Anna Wood

What is your question?  It is not quite clear from your post what you are looking for.

Cheers,

Anna

Jeff Parmentier

I'm looking for a quicker way to plot high quality details (with shaded images or jpegs) without waiting for 40-50 minutes start to finish.

Is there a different way to plot these type of files right from SW? 4-5 minutes would be acceptable.

I'm sure others that need to plot high quality from SW don't want to wait this long??

I've been through my VAR without success.

All of my drivers are current also.

Thanks.

Anna Wood

How big are the plots?

Do you have an example you can post so we can see what you are working with?

So it takes 40-50 minutes direct from SolidWorks to finished plot and only about 5 minutes if you create a pdf and then send the pdf to the plotter.  That is what I am understanding from what you wrote.