I had files checked out when I lost my laptop. How can the files be "undo checkout" now?
The user that has the files checked out can do it, or the ADMIN user can.
Just ensure you check the Undo Checkout box in the confirmation dialog, it is off by default.
Just keep in mind that all you are doing in that process is "releasing" the checkout. The file that is already on the server and is on the server after the undo checkout is the same - any changes to your local file are not brought back to the server. I mostly mention this as a reminder to check the part that is on the server to see what you lost with the lost laptop.
I know this is slightly off the subject, but how often do you check your files in?
every day before leaving
Retrieving data ...