12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2012 9:38 PM by Nick Tanner

Revision Symbols

Scott McFadden

I am relatively new to revision symbols.  In past places I have always used the SW revision

table but never the symbols.  Until now!!!!

What I have noticed is when I place these symbols in various locations across the drawing

either next to a line item in a BOM or next to a dimension, balloon or even a note that if the view

moves or one of these items moves the rev symbol does not.

My question is, is there a way to link these symbols to the above mentioned items so they move when

the thing they are associated with moves?

• Re: Revision Symbols
          Deepak Gupta

You can group them with dimension, balloon, etc. or highlight the view before placing them (in case you need them to remain intact with view)

Scott McFadden

Yes, I can, but I was hoping there is some setting that automatically links it.

Kind of like the anchor point on the SW tables.

Grouping is achievable but sometimes can be monotonous.

Wayne Tiffany

Very simple - make sure that you drop the symbol INTO the view that contains the note/balloon, etc.  It sounds like you are placing them right where you want them (which makes sense) but they are ending up on the sheet, not in the view.  Drop them into the view and then drag out to the final location.

WT

Scott McFadden

Not quite.  I can and have done that.  But, if the balloon is moved or an item gets added to the BOM

the rev symbol does not come along for the ride.  It has to first be noticed that it didn't move and then

be relocated...again.

Deepak Gupta

That's why you need to group them and I don't think there is any other option available. May be you can put up an ER and let us know as I would like to see this feature too.

Wayne Tiffany

Sorry, misunderstood.