9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2011 3:19 PM by Michael Feeney

Buckling of a cylindrical rod

Marleen Offringa

I really hope someone can help me with a problem I'm having with Solidworks simulation.
      I'm a student Industrial Design and I'm designing a toy for children. The toy consists of rubber stiks that children can connect to build structures. I'm facing some problems with simulating the behavior of a stick. A stick is 600 mm long, has a diamter of 30 mm and is made of rubber. I want to know wat will happen when de stick bends in a certain situation: when someone is holding the stick at the ends and moves the hands toward each other. How far is it possible to bend it and will there be buckling or just bending? I've tried to do this by fixing one end and putting a force on the other ,but it never bends far enough. I think I need a moving force or something but I really don't know. Can someone help me? Is this possible with Solidworks simulation? If yes, how? If no, is there an other way to do it?

Edit: Here is the image on another server: JPG & PNG.

• Re: Buckling of a cylindrical rod
          Michael Feeney

Can anyone else open up that image?

Anthony Botting

I cannot open it, either.

Marleen can you send a "*.png" format or *.bmp? Maybe there's something wrong with the web server.