5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2011 6:22 PM by Ryan Brumund

multiple surfaces 3d sketch

Peter Fortin

Let me first say, that even though I've been using Solidworks for 8 years (has it been that long) I don't have much experience with surfacing.

See picture - how do I make 6 surfaces from this 3d sketch? I'm not looking for work arounds that only work for a cube, because ultimately I want to do a more complex shape.

I drew a 3d sketch of a cube.... can you make multiple surfaces for each face of the cube? For that matter, how to make the first surface?

I thought I could use a filled surface, but it grabs the whole 3d sketch instead of just the edges. A filled surface works on a 2d sketch, but not a 3d?

-Pete

• Re: multiple surfaces 3d sketch
          Scott McFadden

Peter,

I would start by using this command in the sketch toolbar

and specify 6 sides.

POLYGON.jpg

Jim Mooney

Try extrude a surface (Insert, Surface, Extrude), this does not cap the ends and gives four surfaces.

to cap ends use Planar surface ((Insert, Surface , planar),then trim it if necessary with surface trim (Insert, Surface, trim),

Hope this gets you started...

Charles Culp

Peter,

Filled Surface is probably the correct tool. Planar surface can work if it is always planar, but you mentioned more complex shapes.

In this instance, if you just left select an unused sketch, it will try and select the entire thing, like you have seen. If, however, you right click, one of the options will be "Start Contour Selection". This will enable you to select just one section at a time for each filled surface.

I prefer just to make additional sketches, it looks more clean to me. This is just a personal preference. I will create a new 3D sketch, and then use convert entities to just bring in the elements that will be used in that one profile.

Peter Fortin